Is freedrum suitable for beginners?

As many had mention about their experience using freedrum to play and the techniques used is different from playing on the actual drum kit.

So I question to all is, is freedrum really suitable for beginners to practice at home when they’re learning in music schools with the actual drum.

It’s like the techniques they learn from drum coach and they’re trying to practice and get the techniques right. Yet, with freedrum, they had to adjust their technique to suit the freedrum way.

Why can’t freedrum be improve so that it can be use as practice with acoustic drum techniques as well rather than just for professionals or performers who perform or record?

I have limited real drum experience but I would say one of the main differences would be the natural bounce back the drum stick head on a real kit has, that cannot be replicated with sensors like Freedrum. I find though, holding the stick loosely and allowing the back end of the stick to hit the inside of my hand when stopping the stick, feels like there is bounce back. This along with a very natural sounding drum (plenty of choice in GarageBand) and the velocity and volume sensing and algorithms provide an overall experience that I feel is more realistic than I originally expected. Especially with a good set of headphone (Bose or similar) Definitely for mastering rudiments or learning a new song (or reading sheet music) and you’re travelling or with friends and can’t take the whole kit, there won’t be too much you need to unlearn to then apply to the real drum kit. Also once you get your head around working with relative angles (Freedrum), compared to any angle at a specific point in space (real drum), learning both will probably improve your precision and give you way more flexibility in when and where you play. I haven’t looked back and it still makes me smile over a year later.

Couldn’t have said it better Robin! Thank you!